

# NOTICE OF 2017 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The 47<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the NSW Division of the Australian Acoustical Society will be held on **Wednesday 1 November 2017** commencing at 6:00 pm sharp at **Room 101, Ainsworth building (J17), University of New South Wales**.

The minutes of the 46<sup>th</sup> AGM (2016) and the 2017 chairperson's report will be published on the website prior to the meeting. The audited accounts and auditor's report will be tabled at the meeting.

### AGENDA

- 1 Opening
- 2 Apologies
- 3 Proxies
- 4 Minutes of 2016 AGM
- 5 Business
  - 5.1 Chairman's report
  - 5.2 Treasurer/Registrar's report
  - 5.3 Appointment of Auditor and Remuneration
- 6 Election of five members to serve on the NSW Division Committee

#### 1. VOTING RIGHTS

Persons holding the grade of Fellow or Member have full voting rights, except they are not permitted to vote at the election of Associate, Subscriber or Student members to the Division Committee.

Persons holding the grade of Associate, Subscriber or Student may only (except as hereinafter provided) vote to elect not more than two of their numbers to the Division Committee. Associates, Subscribers or Student members serving on the Division Committee shall be entitled to vote at any General Meeting of the Society or their Division.

Votes may be submitted by Proxy and a Proxy Form is enclosed herewith. Please note the conditions of lodgement. Persons must be financial at the time of the AGM.

#### 2. NOTICES OF MOTIONS OR BUSINESS

No motion or business other than the business brought forward by the Division shall come before the meeting unless notice thereof is received in writing at least 7 days beforehand.

#### 3. NSW DIVISION COMMITTEE

Committee members who are up for re-election in 2017 after serving two years or are up for election following being co-opted to the committee during 2017 are as follows:

Jeff Parnell**	Division Chairperson
John Wassermann**	Technical Subcommittee / Memberships
Angus Leslie**	Division Vice-Chairperson
Con Doolan**	Technical Subcommittee (Co-opted during 2017)
Ray Kirby**	Technical Subcommittee (Co-opted during 2017)

The members tagged \*\* have indicated that they are available for election.

Committee members whose term will expire in 2018 are as follows:

Rodney Stevens	Treasurer
Matthew Harrison	Technical Subcommittee
Paul Maddock	Technical Meetings/Awards
Laura Keen	Secretary, Minutes Secretary
Mattia Tabacchi	Technical Meetings

If you wish to nominate somebody for election, please complete the attached Nomination Form and returned it to our Secretary by **Wednesday 25<sup>th</sup> October 2017**. Nominations may also be made at the AGM.

Laura Keen Secretary, NSW Division Australian Acoustical Society c/- AECOM Level 21, 420 George Street SYDNEY NSW 2000 Phone: (02) 8934 0000 Email: Laura.Keen@aecom.com

## **NOMINATION FORM 2017**

1 ,	of Grade
Nominate	of Grade
to stand for election as a Committee member f	or a two year period from November 2017.
The person I am nominating has agreed to sta	nd for election.
Signed	Date

PROXY FORM 2017		
I,of		
being a Fellow/Member of the Australian Acoustical Society, hereby appoint		
as my Proxy to vote for me on my behalf at the Annual General Meeting of the NSW Division to be held on Wednesday 1 November 2017 at 6:00 pm and at any adjournment		
thereof.		
SignedDate		
To be valid, Proxy Forms must be forwarded to the Secretary, NSW Division AAS, c/- Laura Keen, AECOM, Level 21, 420 George Street SYDNEY NSW 2000 [Laura.Keen@aecom.com] by Wednesday 25th October 2016. Proxy Forms can also be given to the Secretary or her representative at the meeting place before the commencement of the meeting.		